arrow-circle-down arrow-circle-left arrow-circle-up arrow-down arrow-left arrow-line-right arrow-right arrow-up ballon close facebook filter glass lock menu phone play point q question search target twitter

Professional Area / Calls

2002 Scholarships

arquia/scholarships 2002 call


20 scholarships to do professional internships in European architecture studios

  • Requirements
  • The Arquia Foundation, taking into account the educational value of practical knowledge of the profession and geographic mobility, announces the third edition of the arquia/scholarships call, which awards 20 scholarships to students in the final years of their studies and to young recently graduated architects, for professional internships in European architecture studios.

    • Candidates
    • Students of Architecture and young architects with Spanish nationality or citizens with a residence permit in Spain who, on the date of completion of the application, meet the following requirements may apply for the scholarship:
      a) Having passed, in a Spanish School of Architecture, at least 60% of the credits required to obtain the degree of architect.
      b) Being registered in the 2001/2002 academic year in a Spanish School of Architecture.
      Having obtained the degree of architect in a Spanish School of Architecture or have obtained the degree abroad and have validated it in Spain, after 30 April 2001.
      Candidates who have received a scholarship from Arquia Foundation in a previous call will not be eligible for the scholarship.

    • Destinations. Participating studios
    • The destination studios are selected by the students of Spanish Schools of Architecture as their favourite places for a professional internship, according to the results of the I Online Survey of Architecture Students carried out by the Arquia Foundation in 1998. The updating of the destination studies is done every 3 years through an online survey.
      The studios participating in this call, with which Arquia Foundation has agreed the admission of interns, are the following:


      AJN Atelier Jean Nouvel

      Alberto Campo Baeza

      Álvaro Siza

      Carles Ferrater

      Cruz y Ortiz Arquitectos

      EMBT Arquitectos

      Estudio Carme Pinós


      Foster and Partners

      G. Vázquez Consuegra

      Herzog & De Meuron

      Josep Llinàs

      Juan Navarro Baldeweg

      A Coruña
      Manuel Gallego



      Patxi Mangado

      Rafael Moneo


    • Calendar
    • Call opening: 1 January 2002
      Registration period: From 1 January to 30 April 2002
      Winners: first week of July 2002
      Awards ceremony: October 2002

    • Participation modes
    • There are two ways to participate: academic record and contest. You can choose to participate in one or both of them simultaneously. 10 scholarships are available for each modality. To ensure proper geographical distribution of the scholarships, this will be weighted in proportion to the number of valid registrations received by centre and modality.
      Academic Record
      Candidates will be selected on the basis of their academic record. This will be evaluated by the average of the marks obtained in the subjects passed in the degree course, as well as by the average of the marks obtained in the subjects passed in Projects (for this purpose, all those that depend on the Architectural Projects Department will be considered). These average grades will be calculated by the applicant, as specified in Annex I of the Terms and Conditions.
      2002 Contest
      Students will be selected on the basis of the material submitted to the contest.

    • Documentation and submission
    • Information may be edited until registration deadline.
      Academic record
      Once the registration has been completed, access the private user area with your e-mail and password credentials and enter the average of the grades described above in the box provided for this purpose (section scholarships, option 'edit participation')
      Subsequently, preselected participants will be required to submit their academic records in PDF format.

      2002 Contest: '44'
      Required material:
      Proposals will be submitted under the motto in a single DIN A1 (841 mm x 594 mm) panel, placed horizontally and assembled on a flat, rigid, light and resistant base. All graphic and written documentation must be included in the panel.

      Submissions must be made individually. To ensure the anonymity of the participant before the jury, the files sent must omit personal data and include, clearly and visibly, the motto chosen by the contestant.
      This motto must also be included in the application form ( The Jury's decision will be final.

  • Registration
  • Delivery of material required for the contest can be made to any office of the Architects Credit Union or to Arquia Foundation headquarters (calle Arcs, núm. 1, 08002 Barcelona, e-mail: Material sent before the end date and not received at the Foundation within seven days will not be considered.
    The Foundation is not responsible for lost or damaged material. Proposals submitted will not be returned. The Foundation reserves the right to reproduce and/or exhibit all or part of the material.

  • Registration deadline
  • 30 April, 2002 at 12 pm

  • Deadline for sending documents
  • 30 April, 2002 at 12 pm

  • Jury
  • The jury will be composed of:


    1956 Born in Ibaraki Prefecture, Japan
    1981 Graduated from the Japan Women's University with a Master's Degree of Architecture. Joined Toyo Ito & Associates
    1987 Founded Kazuyo Sejima and Associates
    1988 Selected for a design contest - MCH House. Kashima Award, SD Review 1988
    1989 Special Award for Residential Architecture, Tokyo Architecture Association Yosioka Award, The Japan Architect. 2nd Place, International Industrial Design Contest of the BL
    1990 Honourable Mention, Maison de la Culture du Japon à Paris, SD Award, 1990 SD Review
    1991 2nd Place, Nasumoahara Harmony Hall Design Contest
    1992 2nd Place, GID Contest '92. 2nd Place, Commercial Space Design Award. '94 Japan Institute of Architects 'Young Architect of the Year'
    1994 Grand Prize, Commercial Space Design Award ’94. 'Awarded Architecture '94'
    1995 3rd Place, Yokohama International Port Terminal Design Contest. Co-founded, along with Ryue Nishizawa, the firm SANAA (Sejima and Nishizawa and Associates).
    2000 Erich Schelling Architecture Award, Karlsruhe, Germany

  • 2002 Contest Topic
  • '44'

    Living spaces for families or groups of people generally follow similar rules, confining different individuals in similar spaces, and different family structures in similar groups of spaces. This exercise attempts to create new relationships while investigating possible divisions into multiple spaces.
    The object of the contest is to create a permanent living space for three inhabitants.
    The total area will be 250 m2, and the number of spaces limited by walls will be 44. The function of each space and the pieces of furniture must be included. The relations between the spaces are of utmost importance.
    The contestant may choose the location. It must be described in detail, and it is important to adapt the project to the chosen location.